Digital Growth Expert: Discover the job of Growth Hacker!

What is a Digital Growth Expert? Is it better to hire a freelancer or an agency specialised in growth marketing and growth hacking?

ARTICLES

You hear a lot about it in the digital marketing field: growth. If you're on LinkedIn you've probably already met people who call themselves Growth Hackers or Digital Growth Experts. But what is hidden under this name? What does a growth specialist do?

Digital Growth Expert: what is it? 


Digital Growth Expert, Growth Hacker, Growth Marketeur... Underneath these various names with an English sound, there is an important job for many companies. The growth Hacker is in fact responsible for the growth of a company. This is a vast field: the growth specialist generally has several arrows in his bow. 

His objective: to find the best ways to generate more turnover. In general, the digital growth expert is a digital marketing specialist. He or she must master natural referencing and advertising on the main networks: Facebook and Instagram, Google, but also LinkedIn, TikTok, Snapchat, etc. 

The Growth Hacker is often presented as someone who is creative, who must find the right way to generate business. This often involves original, new tactics. The example given in all business schools is certainly that of Airbnb. At the beginning of the platform, the creators wondered how to make Airbnb known to as many people as possible. They therefore systematically listed the flats they offered for rent on other sites that were better known than them at the time, such as Craiglist. 

This hack had two major effects. The first was that people started to notice the brand. Every time they looked at a flat on Craiglist, they were redirected to Airbnb. So people became more and more familiar with this new platform, to the point of connecting directly to it after a while. 

The second effect was on SEO. Simply put, in SEO, the more links a site receives from other sites, the better it ranks in Google results. So by listing all their flats on other sites, with a link to Airbnb, Airbnb generated thousands and thousands of links to their site. The result was that after a while, when someone searched for "Paris flat" or any other city, the Google results showed Airbnb. 

The result is well known. Today, Airbnb is a major player in the accommodation and tourism industry. And it all started with a genius hack! 

What is a Digital Growth Expert? Find out how they work and what techniques they use on a daily basis!


This is obviously an extreme example, but it illustrates what the job of a digital growth expert is all about: finding ways, traditional or devious, to generate growth. If you want to know more, read the definition of Growth Hacking.


Growth Hacking techniques

The digital growth expert uses a specific framework: the AARRR model. Behind this acronym lies a global strategy, in five steps, which aims to frame the way in which maximum revenue can be generated. AARRR stands for Acquisition, Activation, Retention, Revenue, Referral. 

The growth hacker aims to improve performance at every stage. To do this, he relies on KPIs, the Key Performance Indactors, i.e. the key metrics that show the evolution of performance. This is how the digital growth expert can impact the growth of his company at every stage.


Acquisition

Acquisition is often the part most dealt with by Growth experts. Indeed, it is the basis of the AARRR model. Acquisition is the art of getting as many visitors as possible to your site or application. 

There are many acquisition levers, i.e. methods to bring them in. Social networks (SEM), search engines (SEO and SEA), emailing... The growth specialist knows and masters them all, or can specialise in some. 

What are the KPIs to be monitored for acquisition? When working on acquisition, the most important indicator is certainly the number of visitors. The higher the number of visitors, the better your acquisition. 


Check out our full guide to Growth Hacking and Acquisition


Activation

When a visitor arrives on a website, he must stay there. If they leave before they have had a chance to discover the offer, the products or the brand, they are lost. The Activation stage aims to increase the rate of users who take action after arriving on the site. 

One technique that is often used is to create a sense of urgency. The Internet user is presented with an offer that will soon expire. Messages such as "Only X products left" are used. Some sites set up a timer, which counts down the seconds until the offer is no longer available. 

You will have noticed this on many sites. Here is an example of a search page on Booking.com: 


On each hotel presentation, we find this sense of urgency: Limited time offer, Only 5 more accommodations at this price on our site, Establishment booked twice on your dates in the last 12 hours... Besides that, other techniques are used to increase the activation: Invitation to click in blue on a white background, very good ratings highlighted, free cancellation... 

So what are the KPIs to monitor when working on your activation rate? There are several KPIs that are generally used to measure engagement: the bounce rate, the number of pages consulted and the time spent on the site are the main ones.


Retention

A user who visits the site once and buys your product or service is good. But a user who returns several times to spend money is better. The Retention stage aims to increase the number of times your users or customers come back to your site. 

How do digital growth experts work on retention? Here again, there are many techniques. But the best known is certainly emailing. Once an Internet user has placed an order with you, they have generally given you their contact details: surname, first name, email and even telephone number. Growth hackers use these details to create marketing automation scenarios. 

Depending on the actions you have already taken on the site, you will receive a certain type of email. If you have already been a customer, you will probably receive emails with other products similar to what you may have purchased. If you have added a product to the shopping cart without purchasing it, the company may send you a special offer for that specific product to encourage you to buy. 

Many tools exist that make it very easy to create marketing scenarios. 

What KPIs should be monitored to check the evolution of your retention? Here again, several indicators can be monitored: the number of sessions per user or the number of orders per user are good examples


Revenue

The revenue stage is perhaps the most important stage for digital growth experts. It aims to improve the revenue generated. There are two ways to do this: increase the number of buyers or increase the average basket. 

Here again, there are various techniques. The best known example is certainly that of cross-sell banners when you add items to your shopping basket on an e-commerce site. You know, those banners that say, as on Amazon, "Customers have also consulted these articles" and that offer you products very similar to yours. The aim is to encourage you to add one or two more products. 

The most important KPI when working on the revenue side is obviously the turnover generated. But there are other KPIs to monitor, such as the number of orders placed and the average value of orders.


Referral


What better advertisement for your company than won over customers? The Referral stage aims to turn your customers into ambassadors for your brand. Another person will be much more convinced by the opinion of someone close to them than by an advertisement. With the Referral stage, the digital growth expert tries to set up a virtuous circle: your transformed customers generate acquisition, with a high rate of engagement, revenues and potentially referrals. 

When Deliveroo or Uber Eats offer you referral codes that you can share, they are working their referral. For a few euros saved on a first order, they get a new customer, who will probably order several times. A very effective method, which can be found in many businesses.


Freelance Digital Growth Expert or Growth Agency?

If you too are looking to grow your business, you have probably asked yourself the question: is it better to hire a freelancer or an agency? On the one hand, freelancers are generally cheaper. On the other hand, agencies are better staffed and have access to resources that most freelancers can't afford. 

We can't answer that question for you. What we can tell you is that at GrowthYouNeed, we've made sure we've created a multi-talented team to help you grow across all levers. We are experts in Google, Facebook, TikTok, Youtube and more. Check out our team to find out more. 

We have also decided to offer more affordable rates, which are closer to those of freelancers. Our goal? To offer you the best service at the best price for your growth. 

GrowthYouneed is a Growth Hacking agency in Paris

Do not hesitate to contact us for more information!

We bring a scientific approach to Digital Marketing

Contact us to see how we can help you get more results at a lower cost.
Size of the company
Ready for a call?
Click on the button below to book an appointment with one of our experts. Tell us about your project so that we can provide you with a strategy and a quote in no time.
BOOK A CALL
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

Digital Growth Expert : Découvrez le métier de Growth Hacker !

Qu’est-ce qu’un Digital Growth Expert ? Vaut-il mieux engager un freelance ou une agence spécialisée en growth marketing et growth hacking?

ARTICLES

On en entend beaucoup parler dans le domaine du marketing digital : le growth. Si vous êtes inscrit sur LinkedIn vous avez déjà certainement rencontré des gens qui se qualifient de Growth Hacker ou de Digital Growth Expert. Mais qu’est-ce qui se cache sous cette appellation ? De quoi s’occuper un spécialiste de growth ?

Digital Growth Expert : de quoi s’agit-il ? 


Digital Growth Expert, Growth Hacker, Growth Marketeur… Sous ces appellations variées aux consonances anglophones se cachent un métier important pour bon nombre d’entreprises. Le growth Hacker est en effet responsable de la croissance d’une boite. C’est un domaine vaste : le spécialiste de growth a en général plusieurs flèches à son arc. 

Son objectif : trouver les meilleurs moyens pour générer plus de chiffres d’affaires. En général, le digital growth expert est un spécialiste du marketing digital. Il se doit de maîtriser le référencement naturel et la publicité sur les principales régies : Facebook et Instagram, Google, mais aussi LinkedIn, TikTok, Snapchat… 

On présente souvent le Growth Hacker comme quelqu’un de créatif, qui doit trouver le bon moyen de générer du business. Cela passe souvent par des tactiques originales, nouvelles. L’exemple donné dans toutes les écoles de commerce, c’est certainement celui d’Airbnb. Au commencement de la plateforme, les créateurs se sont demandé comment faire connaître Airbnb au plus grand nombre. Ils ont donc systématiquement inscrit les appartements qu’ils proposaient à la location sur d’autres sites plus connus qu’eux à l’époque, comme Craiglist. 

Ce hack a eu deux effets majeurs. Le premier, c’est que les gens ont commencé à remarquer la marque. A chaque fois qu’ils regardaient un appartement sur Craiglist, ils étaient redirigés vers Airbnb. Les internautes se sont donc de plus en plus familiarisés avec cette nouvelle plateforme, jusqu’à s’y connecter directement au bout de quelque temps. 

Le second effet a été sur le référencement. Pour simplifier, en SEO, plus un site reçoit de liens d’autres sites, mieux il se positionne dans les résultats de Google. En inscrivant tous ses appartements sur d’autres sites, avec un lien vers Airbnb, Airbnb a donc généré des milliers et des milliers de liens vers leur site. Résultat : au bout de quelque temps, lorsqu’un internaute cherchait « Appartement paris » ou toute autre ville, les résultats de Google proposaient Airbnb. 

Le résultat, on le connaît. Aujourd’hui, Airbnb est un acteur majeur du logement et du tourisme. Et tout est parti d’un hack de génie ! 

Qu’est-ce qu’un Digital Growth Expert ? Découvrez comment il travaille et quelles techniques il utilise au quotidien !


Il s’agit évidemment d’un exemple extrême mais qui illustre bien ce qu’est le métier d’expert de la croissance digitale : trouver des moyens, classiques ou détournés, pour générer de la croissance. Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus, découvrez la définition du Growth Hacking.


Les techniques de Growth Hacking

Le digital growth expert se base sur un framework spécifique : il s’agit du modèle AARRR. Derrière ce sigle se cache une stratégie globale, en cinq étapes, qui vise à cadrer la façon dont on peut générer un maximum de revenus. AARRR signifie Acquisition, Activation, Rétention, Revenue, Referral. 

Le growth hacker vise à améliorer les performances à chaque étape. Pour cela il se base sur des KPI, les Key Performance Indactors, c’est-à-dire les métriques-clés qui témoignent de l’évolution des performances. Voici comme le digital growth expert peut impacter la croissance de son entreprise à chaque étape.


Acquisition

L’acquisition est souvent la partie la plus traitée par les experts du Growth. En effet, elle est à la base du modèle AARRR. L’acquisition, c’est l’art de faire venir un maximum de visiteurs sur son site ou son application. 

Il existe de nombreux leviers d’acquisition, c’est-à-dire des méthodes pour les faire venir. Réseaux sociaux (SEM), moteurs de recherche (SEO et SEA), emailing… Le spécialiste de growth les connaît et les maîtrise toutes, ou alors peut se spécialiser sur certaines. 

Quels sont les KPI à suivre pour l’acquisition ? Lorsqu’on travaille sur l’acquisition l’indicateur le plus important est certainement le nombre de visiteurs. Plus il est grand et meilleure est votre acquisition. 


Découvrez notre guide complet sur le Growth Hacking et l’Acquisition


Activation

Lorsqu’un internaute arrive sur un site web, il faut qu’il y reste. S’il repart avant d’avoir pu découvrir l’offre, les produits ou la marque, on le perd. L’étape Activation vise à augmenter le taux d’internautes qui effectuent des actions après être arrivés sur le site. 

Une technique très souvent utilisée est celle de créer un sentiment d’urgence. On présente une offre à l’internaute, qui va bientôt expirer. On utilise alors des messages comme « Plus que X produits disponibles ». Certains sites mettent en place un timer, qui égrène les secondes devant l’internaute jusqu’à que l’offre ne soit plus disponible. 

Vous avez certainement dû déjà le remarquer sur de nombreux sites. Voici l’exemple d’une page de recherche sur Booking.com : 


Sur chaque présentation d’hôtel, on retrouve ce sentiment d’urgence : Offre à durée limitée, Plus que 5 hébergements à ce prix sur notre site, Etablissement réservé 2 fois à vos dates au cours des 12 dernières heures… A côté de ça, d’autres techniques sont utilisées pour augmenter l’activation : invitation au clic en bleu sur fond blanc, très bonnes notes mises en avant, annulation gratuite… 

Quels sont alors les KPI à surveiller lorsqu’on travaille son taux d’activation ? Il en existe plusieurs qui servent, de manière générale, à mesurer l’engagement : le taux de rebond, le nombre de pages consultées, le temps passé sur le site en sont les principaux.


Retention

Un utilisateur qui visite le site une fois et qui achète votre produit ou votre service, c’est bien. Mais un utilisateur qui revient plusieurs fois pour dépenser de l’argent, c’est mieux. L’étape Retention vise à augmenter le nombre de fois que vos utilisateurs ou vos clients reviennent sur votre site. 

Comment les digital growth Expert travaillent-ils sur la retention ? Il existe, là encore, de nombreuses techniques. Mais la plus connues est certainement celle de l’emailing. Une fois qu’un internaute a fait une commande chez vous, il vous a en général donné ses coordonnées : nom, prénom, mail voire même numéro de téléphone. Les growth hackers utilisent ces coordonnées pour créer des scenarios de marketing automation. 

Selon les actions que vous avez déjà effectuées sur le site, vous recevrez un certain type d’emails. Si vous avez déjà été client, vous recevrez certainement des mails avec d’autres produits similaires à ce que vous avez pu acheter. Si vous avez ajouté un produit au panier sans l’acheter, l’entreprise pourra vous envoyer une offre spéciale pour ce produit spécifique afin de vous pousser à l’achat. 

De nombreux outils existent, qui permettent de créer des scenarios marketing très facilement. 

Quels KPI surveiller pour vérifier l’évolution de votre retention ? Là encore, plusieurs indicateurs peuvent être suivis : le nombre de sessions par internaute ou le nombre de commandes par internautes en sont de bons exemples


Revenue

L’étape revenu est peut-être l’étape la plus importante pour les experts de growth digital. Elle vise en effet à améliorer le chiffre d’affaires généré. Deux manières existent : augmenter le nombre d’acheteurs ou augmenter le panier moyen. 

Là encore, on retrouve des techniques variées. L’exemple le plus connu est certainement celui des bandeaux cross-sell lorsque vous ajoutez des articles à votre panier sur un site e-commerce. Vous savez, ces bandeaux qui disent, comme sur Amazon, « Les clients ont également consulté ces articles » et qui vous proposent des produits très similaires au vôtre. L’objectif : vous poussez à ajouter un ou deux autres produits en plus. 

Le KPI le plus important, lorsqu’on travaille sur la partie Revenue, est bien évidemment le chiffre d’affaires généré. Mais d’autres KPI sont à surveiller, notamment le nombre de commandes passées, ainsi que la valeur moyenne des commandes.


Referral


Quelle meilleure publicité pour votre entreprise que des clients conquis ? L’étape Referral vise à transformer vos clients en ambassadeurs de votre marque. Une autre personne sera bien plus convaincue par l’avis d’un proche que par une publicité. Grâce à l’étape Referral, le digital growth expert essaie de mettre en place un cercle vertueux : vos clients transformés génèrent de l’acquisition, avec un fort taux d’engagement, des revenus et potentiellement du referral à la clé. 

Lorsque Deliveroo ou Uber Eats vous offrent des codes de parrainage que vous pouvez partager, ils travaillent leur referral. Pour quelques euros économisés sur une première commande, ils obtiennent un nouveau client, qui commandera vraisemblablement plusieurs fois. Une méthode très efficace, qu’on retrouve dans de nombreux business.


Digital Growth Expert en freelance ou Agence de Growth ?

Si vous cherchez vous aussi à faire croître votre entreprise, vous vous êtes sûrement posé la question suivante : vaut-il mieux engager un freelance ou une agence ? D’un côté, le freelance est en général moins cher. De l’autre, les agences sont mieux staffées et ont accès à des moyens que ne peuvent pas se permettre la plupart des freelances. 

On ne pourra pas répondre à cette question pour vous. En revanche, ce qu’on peut vous dire, c’est que chez GrowthYouNeed, nous avons fait en sorte de créer une équipe aux talents multiples, pour vous accompagner dans la croissance à travers tous les leviers. Nous sommes experts en Google, Facebook, TikTok, Youtube et bien plus encore. Découvrez notre équipe pour en savoir plus. 

Nous avons aussi pris le parti de proposer des tarifs plus abordables, qui se rapprochent de ceux des freelances. Notre objectif ? Vous proposer le meilleur service, au meilleur prix pour votre growth. 

GrowthYouneed est une agence de Growth Hacking à Paris

N’hésitez pas à nous contacter pour en savoir plus !

Nous apportons une approche scientifique au Marketing Digital

Contactez-nous pour voir comment nous pouvons vous aider à obtenir plus de résultats à moindre coût
Taille de l’entreprise
Prêt pour un appel ?
Cliquez sur le bouton ci-dessous pour réserver un rendez-vous avec l'un de nos experts. Expliquez-nous votre projet afin que l'on puisse vous proposer une stratégie et un devis en un rien de temps.
RÉSERVER UN APPEL
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.